THIRTY SILVER “LOST SAINTS” EP REVIEW

Thirty Silver LOST SAINTS

Thirty Silver – Lost Saints EP

I have owed the band Thirty Silver a review for their “Lost Saints” EP since December of last year.   At the time, I had a long list of bands that I was checking out for potential reviews and I was really having trouble keeping track of them all. Then I ended up heading out of town for a couple of assignments and had to focus on my paying work rather than the music reviews that I enjoy writing.   Over the months, Thirty Silver’s guitarist / vocalist, Drew, followed up with me to see if I’d had a chance to check out his music. He was always extremely cool about it. It’s now about eight months later and Thirty Silver is poised to release their follow up EP “Dusk,” so I thought I had better get to work on this review!

Thirty Silver is a two-man band from Boston, MA made up of Drew Smith on guitar and vocals and Joe Z on Drums. Their “Lost Saints” EP contains some seriously good songs, but suffers from a lack of decent production.   After a few seconds of guitar feedback, the EP blasts out of the gate with my favorite of their songs, “Goat.”   It reminds me a little bit of the band Bush, but in terms of songwriting, I prefer “Goat” to anything Bush has released. The great guitar riff and excellent vocal melody make this song one of the better songs I’ve heard from any independent band. The performance isn’t bad, but could have been a little tighter. I think all of the songs would also benefit from having bass guitar, but this is still a great song.

The second, “Familiar,” has a hint of Alice in Chains influence. It’s not as strong as “Goat,” but this is another very solid song.   In terms of performance, the vocals are off pitch in a few spots and there are a few notes on guitar that don’t sound quite right, but the song is well written. I think the right producer could have taken this song up a notch.

Next up is the song “Someday” which makes me think of the band Hole with David Byrne from Talking Heads singing. It’s a decent song, but I like the verses more than the chorus. This one may have the most solid vocal performance on the album.

Track four, “Martyr,” has so much potential that I think it would be worth revisiting if the band ever decides to record a full-length album. It’s well written, the guitar and vocal performances are passionate and it seems like both Drew and Joe are rocking full out on this one.   Unfortunately, it feels like the groove gets away from them in spots and the momentum suffers from an overly long, self-indulgent drum solo near the end. It’s still a really good song though.

The EP closes with “Broken Wings.” This one feels kind like a throwaway song to me. There’s nothing particularly bad about the writing, but it’s just not very memorable.   Pitch problems with the vocals drag the song down even more. The coolest thing about this track is probably the feedback at the end of the song.   It connects to the feedback at the beginning of the first song, creating sort of a loop with the songs.

In terms of songwriting, four out of the five songs on this EP are great tunes. I think with the help of a producer, this could have been a much more polished EP, but these guys have still managed to get their ideas down in a way that conveys their potential as a band. After listening to the songs again, I’m looking forward to hearing the new EP when it comes out. By the way, guys, I am sorry I took so damn long to get this review written.   Thanks for being patient!

Leave a Reply

